The Morning Routine

There is nothing more terrifying than waking up in the morning to an empty bed, a deserted living room or to the staunch of last nights’ Chinese takeaway wafting through the room. Darting around the room, my gaze fixated upon the stack of papers on the sturdy, oak desk. Promising myself that it would be sorted the instant I came back that night, I dragged myself into the shower. Skipping breakfast was not ideal scenario, but with inedible, expired breakfast ingredients in sight, my gastronomic interiors didn’t have much of a choice. A scrub, quick shave and ten minutes later, I locked the door behind me as I trundled to the office dreading my tardiness would soon get me into trouble.London-Collections-TGJ.011

That was two years ago! Even though I was an adult back then, albeit a younger version, I often found myself scavenging on leftovers and cheese sandwiches for breakfast. Today, I am but a little more systematic, organized and a well-prepared adult who runs through the morning routine like clockwork, complete with a workout, shower and shave. Ten minutes of planning the night before opens up time in the a.m. to cook a healthy breakfast, pack lunch and catch up on emails or the latest news. Add a professional attire and man purse (satchel) to complete the ramp look, and I’m raring to go!

ontbijt-mannen-794x1024Drastic changes? Not quite, especially since I still live in the same apartment, shop in the same places and hang out with the same people. But the conscious effort to be organized has paid dividends not just during the morning rush, but even at the workplace. Arriving home early and knowing when to say no to a ‘night out’ is excruciatingly difficult at first, I must admit, but that’s the opportunity cost for a good nights’ sleep.

In retrospect, the two versions of the ante meridian routine portray a juxtaposed image of the same adult who made one firm, yet simple choice – to grow up. To stop being a young man, and mature into a young adult and take charge of things thus making our choices simpler. To continue living as a bachelor, replete with party-nights and running late the next day, or as the established adult who exists in a structured environment and is the master of his universe?

P.S. If you’re struggling with your mornings, check these helpful tips.

Leave a Reply

